6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 19, 2008 9:14 AM by (ScottBendigo)

Print to PDF and specify file name.

Hardware/Software Details:
      MacBook 2GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
      OS 10.5.5
      Adobe Acrobat Professional 8.1.2

Hey all,

I'm a teacher and I've been scripting PDFs for use as marking sheets for assignments. What I'm trying to achieve is a situation where I tick all the boxes, marks are calculated and comments filled-in using my form fields (which all work fine) and then produce a PDF from that file with the student's name as the new file name (which is where I'm stuck!).

In the past, I've had a button that on mouseOver brings the field with the student's name into focus, mouseDown evoked the File:Copy menuItem (copying the student name to the system's clipboard) and then mouseUp which triggered File:Print from which I would choose 'Adobe PDF 8.0' as the printer, hit Save, paste the student's name as the file name and choose the appropriate directory.

File:Copy is no longer a "safe" menu item according to the latest versions of Acrobat, so I'm having to manually copy the name which is complicating the process further.

I'm working on a script activated by the mouseUp of a button in this PDF which is currently looking like this:

>var pp = this.getPrintParams();
      // format name to remove spaces and commas
      var studName = this.getField("Name").value.split(",").join("_").split(" ").join("");
      pp.interactive = pp.constants.interactionLevel.silent;
      pp.printerName = "";
      pp.fileName = studentName + ".ps";
      this.print(pp);