21 Replies Latest reply on Apr 21, 2008 11:57 AM by (kcdoell)

A select all checkbox button

Level 1
      Hello:

I am a Newbie at JavaScript so please be patient and kind. I am currently creating a form using Adobe LiveCycle Designer 8.0.

On my form I have a section that displays 50 check boxes representing 50 states in the USA. On my form it is reasonable that a end user could select some or all of the states. To that end, I want to have a checkbox or button that will select and deselect all of the State checkboxes. So far I have added a button called "Select All" and on the click event I wrote the following script:

xfa.form.topmostSubform.Page2.CKSS_AL.rawValue=1
      xfa.form.topmostSubform.Page2.CKSS_AK.rawValue=1
      xfa.form.topmostSubform.Page2.CKSS_AR.rawValue=1
      xfa.form.topmostSubform.Page2.CKSS_AZ.rawValue=1
      xfa.form.topmostSubform.Page2.CKSS_CA.rawValue=1

etc.....

As you can see I have named my checkboxes CKSS_AL, CKSS_AK,,,etc..CKSS_WY.

This works, but I am thinking that there must be a more efficient way of writing this code.... Is there a way to create a loop script that will accomplish the same thing? I have done this in VBA but never in JavaScript. I have been looking on the internet for ideas for days but keep coming up empty handed. If anyone can shed some light on the subject it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Keith.
        • 1. Re: A select all checkbox button
          Patrick Leckey Level 3
          Say you have an array of all your state acronyms (NY, AZ, CA, etc...) called 'stateArray' you can do as follows:

for ( var state in stateArray )
          {
          var oField = xfa.resolveNode("xfa.form.topmostSubform.Page2.CKSS_" + state);
          oField.rawValue = 1;
          }

Or, without your state array, you can do:

var oFields = xfa.resolveNodes("xfa.topmostSubform.Page2.CKSS_*");
          for ( var oField in oFields )
          {
          oField.rawValue = 1;
          }