5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 24, 2008 4:51 AM by (Aandi_Inston)

Newbie can't run code!

Good day, thanks for your time.

I'm a newbie JS user; I come from the world of VBA in Excel and am out of my depth!

I am trying to use some sample code that I found on page 52 of the JavaScript Developer Guide:
      "var filename = this.documentFileName;
      for (var i = 0; i < this.numPages; i++)
      this.extractPages({
      nStart: i,
      cPath : filename + i + ".pdf"
      });"

(I added "filename = this.documentFileName" instead of "filename = "invoice";")

When I try to run the code in the JavaScript Debugger, I get:
      "syntax error
      2:Console:Exec
      undefined"

-------

I have two questions:
      1) How to fix the code so that it actually saves each page of the .pdf as a new file?

and

2) Do I 'run' the JS in the debugger to get desired results, or do I have to save it in a folder somewhere?

Thank you once again for your help,

Chris
        • 1. Re: Newbie can't run code!
          Bernd Alheit Adobe Community Professional & MVP
          What happens when you use the unchanged sample code of the JavaScript Developer Guide?
          • 2. Re: Newbie can't run code!
            Patrick Leckey Level 3
            I'm just mentioning this because of the way you included your sample, I'm not trying to sound like an arse, but you're not running the code with the double-quotes around the whole thing as you have it typed above, are you?

The documentation does say that the extractPages function is allowed to run in a console event so you shouldn't need to run it as folder-level.

Bernd's suggestion is a good one, try that too.

What bothers me is that your error message is saying "Exec" is undefined, but I don't see the text "Exec" anywhere in your code. Where is this coming from?
            • 3. Re: Newbie can't run code!
              (Aandi_Inston) Level 1
              You should also read the section about what "this" actually means, it