4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 25, 2008 10:27 AM by (J_Rahmaan)

JavaScript Validation in Adobe Professional 8

Hi all,

I'm a newbie to Adobe stuff, forms, and their "validation" concept using Java Scripts. My client has an employee that is building a page for their website to obviously, get information into a database. However, they want to apply a validation to date fields... I know that Adobe has some built-in validations, but the validation they want is to prevent FUTURE dates (limited ex: to just month/year, and also prevent really OLD dates (like over 100 years)...

So, I have this java script that accepts a text value parameter which gets parsed and does this validation ... no problem. However, how do I get Adobe Professional to recognize my call to it.

For simplicity purposes, I even have the first line in the function to just return false;... so its something like this...

function validDate(passdate)
      { return false; }

obviously nothing tricky and actual code is longer to handle parsing, numeric validation, etc... But how to incorporate this within Adobe.

Lets get VERY basic here... I have a simple form with 1 field... the textbox field... And I right-click on it, go to properties, click on the validation tab, and radio-button for validate via javaScripting. I pasted the code in there that represents the function, but it obviously does nothing. I'm not going to bother confusing the answers based on other crap I've found to be lacking of any substance, so any good direction / samples would be GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks,

Don
        • 1. Re: JavaScript Validation in Adobe Professional 8
          Patrick Leckey Level 3
          Just post the actual code in there, not in the form of a function (whatever your code inside the function would be).

Think of it as already having a validate() function, and whatever you put in is the body of that function.
          • 2. Re: JavaScript Validation in Adobe Professional 8
            Level 1