4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 2, 2008 9:02 AM by MarkWalsh

Calculating Based on Checkbox Value

ok I have simple situation, one checkbox and one text field. If the check box is checked, I want the value of the text field to be 3(just an example).

I'm new to formcalc
      on the text field calculate, this is what I have, and ofcourse it doesn't work.

If cbquickbooks.value=1 then(txtquickbooks.rawValue=3)

Thanks!
        • 1. Re: Calculating Based on Checkbox Value
          Patrick Leckey Level 3
          Use the rawValue of your checkbox instead of just value. If memory serves, the value will be the checkboxs exported value as opposed to a boolean value.

In JavaScript (you can change the drop-down from FormCalc to JavaScript) it would be:

if ( cbquickbooks.rawValue == true )
          {
          txtquickbooks.rawValue = "3";
          }
          • 2. Re: Calculating Based on Checkbox Value
            Okay - I'm new as well - in Acrobat Professional 8 - forms (since some folks are on Macs) - can you create a calculated field for say an expense report for mileage.
            The text field folks would put in the miles they drove - then I want another field to be able to show the total expense - using the mileage rate (say $.505)
            Any help?
            (and if it can't be done in acrobat forms- can it be done in LiveCycle designer for windows? How?
            Thanks for any suggestions
            • 3. Re: Calculating Based on Checkbox Value
              Patrick Leckey Level 3
              It can be done, quite simply, in both AcroForms and XFA (LiveCycle Designer) Forms using JavaScript.

Here is the JavaScript reference:
              http://www.adobe.com/devnet/acrobat/pdfs/js_api_reference.pdf

If you don't already know even a little JavaScript, I would strongly urge you to read some basic JavaScript tutorials before working with JavaScript inside Acrobat.
              • 4. Re: Calculating Based on Checkbox Value