3 Replies Latest reply on May 14, 2008 9:22 AM by gkaiseril

Placing current page number on all pages

I am new to JavaScript in Acrobat and I have what I believe to be a simple question.

I have a multipage document that I need to place certain information on each page. On page 1 I have some form fields that the user can input specific information in and I have 1 output field that concatenates these and places it on all subsequent pages. As part of the output field I need to include a page number. This is the only part I have not been able to figure out.

As an example:
      Page 1 will have the following input fields and values:

Input1 --> "This is"
      Input2 --> "Page"

The output field on all pages will be as follows:

Page1 --> "This is Page 1"
      Page2 --> "This is Page 2"

The actual input fields will include information specific to when and how this document was printed. The output field will be converted to a barcode to enable automatic reading of the printed file.
      I want a single field for my output that I will copy to each subsequent page. I don't want to place a unique field on each page for many reasons.

I can email a sample of what I am trying to accomplish if that would be helpful.

I am using Acrobat Professional 8.1.2.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
        • 1. Re: Placing current page number on all pages
          gkaiseril MVP & Adobe Community Professional
          Since you are using many fields, you should consider not using the "Custom calculation script" for the page number fields, as all of these fields will be re calculated whenever any field with a calculation is updated. One can create a document level function to number the pages upon opening. Assuming you have systematically named your page number fields in a format like "PageNum.#", where "#" is the zero based page number on which the field resides.

function NumberPage(fPage) {
          this.calculate = false; // turn off automatic calculations