9 Replies Latest reply on Aug 8, 2008 4:04 AM by (Nethaji)

How to access Acrobat menu using Applescript

I'm new to AppleScripting but just don't get how to use the few Library commands available in Acrobat to do a fairly simple task. Maybe I'm expecting too much from AppleScript and this can't be accomplished:

1. Open Acrobat 7.0 Professional (OK, got it)
      2. Open specific document (OK, got it)
      3. Go to Menu item "Document:Add Headers & Footers..." (?)
      4. Paste contents of Clipboard into center header (?)
      5. Close Window, Save Document (with same name), Close Document (?)

Can this be done? Also, what are the Record and Stop buttons for in Script Editor? I haven't been able to find any info on these. I was hoping they worked like the old Excel Macro recording feature, but they don't seem to do anything. My OS is 10.4.11. Thank you for any help!
        • 1. Re: How to access Acrobat menu using Applescript
          Level 1
          Mike,

For items 3 and 5 look at the doscript command. Something like this:

--Code Start
          --Let Acrobat know that the script is beginning
          tell application "Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional"
          open "Macintosh HD:AGREEA.TIF" invisible "False"

--Run the 'do script' command with the proper syntax
          (do script "app.execMenuItem('COMP:AddHeadFoot');")

--Let Acrobat know that the script is ending
          end tell
          --Code End

For item 4 your going to be relying on "System Events" to tab to the correct field and then paste the contents into that field.

~T
          • 2. Re: How to access Acrobat menu using Applescript
            Level 1
            Tembowa, thanks for your response! Where did you find the script "app.execMenuItem('COMP:AddHeadFoot');" ? Apparently I'm missing a lot here. This script does take me to the menu item i want (thank you), but you say I need to rely on "System Events" to do the tab and paste. What/where do I find how to use these events?

mg