7 Replies Latest reply on May 22, 2008 2:24 PM by (J_Stalcup)

pdf form, submit by?, and captcha

I am a bit of a newbie to the programming side of web design. I have a handful of clients, mostly friends and small ministries, for whom I have created primarily html websites (some CSS and simple PHP). Two of the clients have pdf forms for visitors to fill out and send back by email.

Problem one is on the site's quote and order forms. Submit buttons for submitting by email. However, the script doesn't initiate (bring up an email program) for people with Hotmail and other webmail programs. Am I doing something wrong or is this not the best way to submit? I know it can also be submitted by url, via http instead of by email, but I have no clue what is involved with having it write to our server and how to access it from there. (https://host36.christianwebhost.com/magdacsihas/magdaOrderForm.pdf)

The second problem is that we think one of the clients is getting spam emails from robots rather than true order submissions. I read up trying to find out how to add a Captcha security image, but all I could find were related to html FormMails, not to pdf forms. Can robots submit fake orders if I have required fields that must be filled out before allowing submission or do they just record the email address for other types of spam? Can you provide advice on how to better secure the pdfs or should I convert to html forms or what? (http://www.refugeoutreachcenter.org/pp_order_Bulk0508.pdf)

I need to fix Problem One asap. The client has asked that it be working by this weekend.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
      fanis
        • 1. Re: pdf form, submit by?, and captcha
          (Aandi_Inston) Level 1
          > However, the script doesn't initiate (bring up an email program) for people with Hotmail and other webmail programs.

It can't. There isn't an email program for these people.

>Am I doing something wrong or is this not the best way to submit?