9 Replies Latest reply on Jun 11, 2008 2:14 PM by Bill Lomax

Field value equals zero then Invisible

Bill Lomax Level 1
      Hello, I'm very new to JavaScript. I have a form where there are a number of fields that perform simple math, e.g., SUM = A - B. What I want the end form to do is not show a total of 0.000 when the fields A and B have no input. How do I accomplish this? Also, when I "enable User Rights In Adobe Reader" is that going to impact the Script?
        • 1. Re: Field value equals zero then Invisible
          gkaiseril MVP & Adobe Community Professional
          Test to see if field A or B has any inputted value before performing the calculaiton.

In AcroForms JavaScript custom calculation scirpt:

(if(this.getField("A").valueAsString != "" | this.getField("A").valueAsString != "')
          event.value = this.getField("A").value - this.getField("B").value;

LiveCycle Designer calcuation in FormCalc

if(HasValue(A) or HasValue(B) then
          A - B
          else
          ""
          endif
          • 2. Re: Field value equals zero then Invisible
            Bill Lomax Level 1
            Thank you Geo, I've added the LiveCycle Designer calculation, and the cumulative field is blank when A or B has no value; however, it is still blank when I add values into the A or B fields.

I am typing these straight into "Text Field Properties", the script works as above in the "simplified field notation" but returns an error of "missing ) after condition 1: at line 2" when entered in the "Custom calculation script" JavaScript Editor.

if(HasValue(Baseline1) or HasValue(InstalledOnPeak1) then
            Baseline1-InstalledOnPeak1
            else
            ""
            endif

What am I missing here?
            • 3. Re: Field value equals zero then Invisible
              Bernd Alheit Adobe Community Professional & MVP
              > What am I missing here?

For every ( you must enter a ).
              • 4. Re: Field value equals zero then Invisible