10 Replies Latest reply on Mar 5, 2012 2:25 PM by VickiTuch

pdf forms - help with calculation with alert message

Acrobat 8 on a mac

I am new to pdf forms and even newer to javascript. I need help with a calculation that will only allow entries that add up to 100 (%); i.e. the values in "field 1" plus "field 2" must equal 100 and allow for the possibility that no value is entered in "field 2" (100+0=100). I also would like to display a message when values do not add up to 100, alerting them to revise their entries...

I have managed to locate, copy and paste document and keystroke javascripts to autotab and validate dates (12 months, 31 days, etc) but have not had any success with this specific calculation.

Thanks
        • 1. Re: pdf forms - help with calculation with alert message
          evil8
          The way I do it is to have a hidden field that totals both "field 1" and "field 2". Then I test that hidden field with an if statement. If not 100% then I use app.alert("Your msg here") followed with a setFocus to return to "field 1".

if(this.getField("total").value !== 100) {
          app.alert("Your percentage totals do not add up to 100%");
          }
          this.getField("field 1").setFocus();

I had to simplify this example, because I do other checks attached to a button, but this should at least get you started in the right direction.

Hope this helps
          Gene
          • 2. Re: pdf forms - help with calculation with alert message
            gkaiseril MVP & Adobe Community Professional
            One has to be careful because an empty numeric field is treated as zero, so one needs to check if both fields have a value or one is equal to 100.

event.value = ''; // clear field
            // get the values of field 1 and 2 as string
            var sField1 = this.getField("field 1").value.toString();
            var sField2 = this.getField("field 2").value.toString();
            // adjust for a field being 100 and the other is null