14 Replies Latest reply on Jan 23, 2009 7:27 AM by (huksy)

Adding Bookmarks

Glen_Bal Level 1
      Hello,

I am a Newbie at Indesign scripting and I am trying to add bookmarks.
      I have 2 problems i'm stuck with:
      Problem 1:
      When i create a bookmark from a paragraph, with the text of that paragraph as the name of the bookmark. The special characters like tabs, non-breakable-spaces and returns get transformed into squares in the name of the bookmark. Am I doing something wrong.

Problem 2 (not really a problem, but a question):
      What is the correct way to point to a specific paragraph? Do i make a hyperlinkTextDestination (the InsertionPoint) first and assign the bookmark to it? Or am i doing it wrong?

Can you help me?
      Thanks in advance!!!

app: Indesign
      language: javascript

Glen Bal
        • 1. Re: Adding Bookmarks
          [Jongware] Most Valuable Participant
          >squares in the name of the bookmark. Am I doing something wrong.

No. Bookmarks are designed to hold simple text only -- no formatting, font, or (indeed) tabs and other special spaces. I solve this by storing the text in a string, replacing all of these with a simple single space, and using the string as bookmark name.

>What is the correct way to point to a specific paragraph? Do i make a hyperlinkTextDestination (the InsertionPoint) first and assign the bookmark to it?

It is a bit confusing. I remember going through it line by line until it finally worked. This comes from my code:

h = app.activeDocument.hyperlinkTextDestinations.add(theStory.paragraphs[i]);

bm = level2bm.bookmarks.add(h);
          bm.destination.name = "Hi!";
          bm.name = "Actual text for the bookmark";
          • 2. Re: Adding Bookmarks
            Glen_Bal Level 1
            Thank you for your help!!!

Greetz,
            Glen
            • 3. Re: Adding Bookmarks
              Glen_Bal Level 1
              I still have one more question.