4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 21, 2008 3:30 AM by Glen_Bal

Placing Textframes

Glen_Bal
      Hi,

I'm pretty new to indesign (scripting) and i'm puzzled.
      I want a textframe at the bottom of each page, of course different for recto and verso. But because i have many different masterpages and masterspreads, i don't want to add a textframe on each masterpage/spread.
      I quickly made a little code to put a textframe on page 2 and 3. page 2 and 3 are on the same spread.

var myDocument = app.documents[0];
      for (cPages = 1; cPages < 3; cPages++) {
      var myTextFrame = myDocument.pages[cPages].textFrames.add();
      myTextFrame.geometricBounds = ["2p","6p","20p","15p"];
      myTextFrame.insertionPoints.item(0).contents="this is my text";
      }

What happens: I have 2 textframes on page 2 at the same position and none on page 3. So for textframes-reference it takes the spread insteed of the page, and i don't seem to get it right.

Question 1: What is the way to do what i want?
      Question 2: How can i change the referencepoint of the textframe?

Thanks for your answers.
      (I hope my questions aren't too stupid)

Glen
        • 1. Re: Placing Textframes
          Glen_Bal Level 1
          Answer to Question 2:
          You can't change the referencepoint of the textframe, you can only change the referencepoint of the document or application with layoutWindows[0].transformReferencePoint.

That leaves Question 1 still open
          • 2. Re: Placing Textframes
            [Jongware] Most Valuable Participant
            You're actually going along just fine. This is just one of ID's little inside jokes.

Changing the Reference point will not help you here; that's the point around which objects are rotated, the same as the transform proxy in the top left of your control panel.