9 Replies Latest reply on Nov 7, 2008 3:44 PM by (3poulakia)

Find text and replace with image - Help needed

Hi,<br /><br />We need to place the images as inline in the appropriate places.<br /><br />texttexttext<<test1.eps>>texttexttexttexttexttext<<test2.eps>>texttexttexttexttexttext< <test3.eps>>texttexttexttexttexttext<<test4.eps>>texttexttexttexttexttext<<test5.eps>>text texttext<br /><br />This code is helpful for placing a single image at a time, we are unable to place all the images in one shot, can anyone help me out.<br /><br />I am not a programmer.<br /><br />-----------<br />var myDoc = app.activeDocument; <br />app.findPreferences = app.changePreferences = null; <br />var math=document.search("test.eps"); <br />for (i=math.length-1; i >=0; i--)<br />{ myDir = Folder.selectDialog(); <br />AllGraphics = Folder(myDir).getFiles('test.eps') <br />for (i=0; i<math.length; i++) { app.select(anil1[i]); <br />     myDoc.place(AllGraphics[i],false); } }<br />-----------<br /><br />Note: I have taken this code from forum and we have made some changes on this.<br /><br />Kavya
        • 1. Re: Find text and replace with image - Help needed
          Level 1
          Any help on this..............

Kavya
          • 2. Re: Find text and replace with image - Help needed
            [Jongware] Most Valuable Participant
            I see you are using old style 'search' -- that means you are using CS, right? You don't mention this, but it is important.

>This code is helpful for placing a single image at a time, we are unable to place all the images in one shot [..]

You are searching for the text 'test.eps' and then replacing it with the image called 'test.eps'. That's the one image you get, on the one place you find.

Make an array of all possible filenames and loop over these, searching and placing one name/file at a time. I'd recommend searching for "<<"+filename+">>", because it seems those are the exact markings in the text.