9 Replies Latest reply on Jan 26, 2009 8:42 AM by Newsgroup_User

Basic startup problem

JFistere Level 1
      I am new to DW and I'm working with CS4. I set up my new site, created a blank CSS page and created a new HTML page with a Layout: 2 colum elastic, left sidebar, header and footer, and attached my CSS file. This is obviously the wrong thing to do because the four sections come out as four similar paragraphs. If I select the "Add to Head" option instead of a separate CSS file, the resulting sheet is OK. However I want to learn to use external CSS files.

I tried pasting what I thought was the relevant info from the header into the CSS file, then created a new HTML page with Layout: <none> and attached the modified CSS file. I got blank page and no evidence of columns, header or footer.

I would have expected the ability to create a CSS file with a layout, that would control the sheets attached to it, but that is not offered when creating a new CSS file.

So, my question is how do I create a sheet with a Selected Layout using an external CSS? If that is not possible, how do I create the particular Selected Layout I mentioned above?

Thanks for any advice you can give me.

John Fistere

• 1. Re: Basic startup problem
          Level 7
          >I am new to DW and I'm working with CS4. I set up my new site, created a
          >blank
          > CSS page and created a new HTML page with a Layout: 2 colum elastic, left
          > sidebar, header and footer, and attached my CSS file.

The page you created was made from the DW Sample layouts? When you do that,
          the CSS for the layout is embedded in the head of the page. By linking to a
          new, blank CSS file, you would not affect the existing CSS at all, nor would
          you affect the desired layout. I am curious to know the details of what you
          did to know how it affected the layout.

> If I select the "Add to Head" option

What is this? Where do you see it?