7 Replies Latest reply on Apr 24, 2008 10:24 AM by (Christopher_Dick)

Delete/Replace old Paragraph and Character Styles

Hi all,

I was wondering if this is something can could be scripted...

I've recently switched our company from Quark to InDesign.
      I've also created a copy style structure using Paragraph and Character styles. Something we weren't doing in Quark, and if it was done, it was done badly.

In our more Important files I made sure before converting to InDesign to Delete all the old useless Quark styles, since we have a new structure now.

But Quarks styles I'm finding are like a bad penny, they're slowly creeping back into some of our "clean files" from all the left over Quark files that get converted on a needed basis. With these styles being missed, before conversion.

I have a list and a "master" InDesign document where all the styles were made, and can be easily imported into a new document. But after looking at a list of styles for a while, it's hard to detect right away if something else snuck back in.

I'd like to try an automate this,...

where I could run a Script, it would look through the list of Scripts that are suppose to be there, see the ones that aren't, and delete or give me the option to replace with the right ones.
      Even the darn "Normal" one that keeps showing up from Word, etc...

with out me doing this one-by-one and referring to my list each time. (even though I almost know it by heart now)

Is this even possible?

Thanks for your help!!!

Christopher
        • 1. Re: Delete/Replace old Paragraph and Character Styles
          Level 1
          hi Christopher,

for PC or for MAC ??

robin

--
          www.adobescripts.com
          • 3. Re: Delete/Replace old Paragraph and Character Styles
            Peter Kahrel Adobe Community Professional & MVP