11 Replies Latest reply on Mar 31, 2008 9:32 AM by Peter Kahrel

Index topics by page number

Our proofreader would like to see the Index entries sorted by page number for ease of checking. So she would like to see all of the page references for page 1, then page 2, etc.

I'm a bit of a rookie when it comes to scripting, but assume that I could read the index entries and save them to a file for sorting by page number. I'm just looking for some direction on exactly what objects I should be reading and how to create and write to a text file.

My programming background is Delphi and I've created a couple of simple scripts with JavaScript, so I think I could move forward if someone would point me in the right direction.
        • 1. Re: Index topics by page number
          Fred Goldman Level 3
          1) Generate the index in a new text frame.

2) Put your cursor in the text frame and run this script:

myStory = app.selection[0].parent;
          for (var j = myStory.paragraphs.length - 1; j >= 0; j--) {
          myStory.paragraphs[j].words[-1].move(LocationOptions.atBeginning, myStory.paragraphs[j].insertionPoints[0]);
          }

This will move the page number to the beginning of the paragraph.

3) Copy the text into Word and go to Table>Sort... to sort the entries and viola!
          • 2. Re: Index topics by page number
            Peter Kahrel Adobe Community Professional & MVP
            Fred,

Your script moves one page number to the beginning of the paragraph. What about the others?

Peter
            • 3. Re: Index topics by page number
              What Harper Marie probably wants is to turn this sequence:

cat 2, 4
              dog 1, 3, 5

into this:

dog 1
              cat 2
              dog 3
              cat 4
              dog 5

Peter
              • 4. Re: Index topics by page number
                We'll see what she says.
                • 5. Re: Index topics by page number
                  Level 1