23 Replies Latest reply on Apr 10, 2008 7:04 AM by (Avi)

About Master page

Level 1
      I want to Set up multiple master pages, and base one master page on another to help keep designs consistent when updating documents. Using my script i am able to create a A- Matser but i want to create B-Master, C-Master... What changes i need to do to make multiple master.

Thnak you.
        • 1. Re: About Master page
          [Jongware] Most Valuable Participant
          (Untested:) MasterSpread has a property 'appliedMaster', which I think means you have to create a new master spread first, then set appliedMaster to your A-Master.

I guess the easiest way is to use duplicate on A-Master, set the appliedMaster prop on this new one to A-Master, then apply changes on the new one.
          • 2. Re: About Master page
            Level 1
            I am new to Javascript. Can you tell me how to write a script to duplicate on A-master and how to use that master or how to apply that master to any document.
            • 3. Re: About Master page
              It's staggering simple.

>var newMaster = app.activeDocument.masterSpreads.add();

>newMaster.appliedMaster = app.activeDocument.masterSpreads.item("A-Master");

This creates a new (empty) master and sets its 'applied'. My 2nd idea of duplicating an existing one, using

>var newMaster = app.activeDocument.masterSpreads.item("A-Master").duplicate();

i does
              work, but then you get all items duplicated as well (once from the original master, once from the master page).

Applying this new master to your pages is equally simple. How about

>app.activeDocument.pages[0].appliedMaster = newMaster;

You don't need "pages.items(0)" here -- you can use the index immediately.
              • 4. Re: About Master page
                Level 1
                Thank you jongware,

I just have a small question. If i have name the new master as "B-master". what should i do then.
                • 5. Re: About Master page