7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 3, 2008 4:47 AM by (Dave_Saunders)

Anchored frame selection

Is the textframe is different from Anchored textframe. I couldn't able to select the anchored textframe by the below code.

mydoc.Pages(i).TextFrames(j).Select()

It only selects the non-anchored textframes.
        • 1. Re: Anchored frame selection
          An anchored textframe is a child of another textframe. So it would be something like mydoc.Pages(i).TextFrames(j).TextFrames(k).Select().

Or better, if all frames are anchored within one story, use that story's TextFrames collection.
          • 2. Re: Anchored frame selection
            Level 1
            Hi,

I am new to indesign scripting. Post sample code for Stories textframe collection. It would be helpful.
            • 3. Re: Anchored frame selection
              Level 1
              Are you using CS2 or CS3. The answer to your question is different according to the version you're using because of a change in the object model with CS3.

Use the Object Model Viewer (OMV) in ESTK 2's Help menu to explore the CS3 object model.

Dave
              • 4. Re: Anchored frame selection
                Level 1
                I am using CS2 with vb.net.

I want to select all the anchored textframes named "RemAnchor" in a .indd file then copy the contents with page number in a text file.
                • 5. Re: Anchored frame selection
                  Level 1
                  Dave,

This does work for textframes but it's not working for anchored frames.

For h = 1 To mydoc.Pages.Count
                  For j = 1 To mydoc.Pages(h).TextFrames.Count
                  mydoc.Pages(h).TextFrames(j).Select()
                  For k = 1 To mydoc.Pages(h).TextFrames(j).Paragraphs.Count
                  mydoc.Pages(h).TextFrames(j).Paragraphs(k).Select()
                  Next
                  Next
                  Next
                  • 6. Re: Anchored frame selection
                    Level 1