9 Replies Latest reply on Jan 3, 2009 4:22 PM by Phillies2008

New to Flex

Phillies2008
      HNY All, I'm a developer on IBM i platform and I'm looking to use Flex to create a better UX for my application. From what I've read Flex does not connect to any data base but does access data via a web service. I use DB2 for i5/os and we have very large files. I would obviously want to pull, list, update and push data back to backend system. Would this method have the performance needed to maintain an ERP system. Also, is there a WYSIWYG so you can drag widgets to canvas?

Thanks
        • 1. Re: New to Flex
          atta707 Level 2
          Flex Builder let's you design your screens in Design View where you drag 'n drop components to the stage and set the their properties etc.

Web Services isn't the only way Flex gets data. It can talk to any HTTP based backed end; Tomcat, Weblogic, Websphere, .NET, PHP, what have you and get the server can do all the processing and pass data along to Flex. For very large files, I'm assuming, you'll do some processing on the server side and send only selected data for user.

HTH.

ATTA
          • 2. Re: New to Flex
            chris.huston.t10 Level 3
            I would think that using RemoteObjects (a binary format, amf3, ideal for large data sets) would be able to handle an ERP system. The amf3 format is very efficient.

Vygo
            • 3. Re: New to Flex
              Phillies2008 Level 1
              Flex is very exciting but development in my world is VERY easy. Unfortunately it’s text based and does not provide the UX that Flex does. Our RIA/WEB 2.0 development tool is IBM’s EGL. It is new and costly.