7 Replies Latest reply on Dec 10, 2008 12:55 PM by ntsiii

XML and creating links

scc_web
      I'm new to flex and relatively new to XML (my background is mostly in PHP/MySQL) but I'm trying to build a navigation menu for a site using Flex (wanted to use Flash for animation purposes, heard this might be a better way to go). So far, it's going well, but I'm hung up on an issue. I want to be able to put all the links into a db and have an XML document generate them and then load into the Flex menu. So far, I can load the XML data ok, but I'm hitting a snag.

Each link when I put it in the menu statically is using CDATA inside an <mx:htmlText> to generate the <a href=""> code. How can I put my xml data inside that? So, example <a href="{xml data for url}">{xml data for label}</a>. I also want the Flex to be able to loop that so that it doesn't have to be a fixed number of links. Make sense?

Is there a better way to do it that using htmlText? I'm basically teaching myself Flex using a few books and web resources!

Once I get the text navigation down, I want to build an app that will display images in a fade in fade out rotation. Each of the images will need to be pulled from the db and link (url also pulled from the db). Make sense?

all of this would be really easy for me to do using php, but we want the animation that you can have with using flex.
      thanks!
        • 1. Re: XML and creating links
          rtalton Level 4
          I haven't seen this done, but I'll be watching this thread!

Only way I've ever used is to just have only the text for the url in the xml, like:
          <menuitem label="Google's web site" url=" http://www.google.com"/>
          Then in the click handler for the menuitem, use navigateToURL to open a new browser window:
          navigateToURL(new URLRequest(event.target.menuDataProviderXML.url),'_blank');

Hope this is useful to you at some point.
          • 2. Re: XML and creating links
            scc_web Level 1