8 Replies Latest reply on Jan 23, 2009 1:30 AM by ChivertonT

How Open source Flex looks to a mid level developer

Alan Klement
      Here is my response to a post Matt made on a blog:

THe whole post:

http://blog.simb.net/2009/01/19/take-flex-back-for-the-community/

@Matt
      1st off thanks, now my input:
      The crux of your criticism seems to be that the process that we use for decision-making is closed its certainly not how we feel

Unfortuntly, this seems like a case of bad commuication by Adobe and the Flex team. If notable community experts get the impression of closed doors, then *certainly* the rest of us get this impression as well.

but there has been very little participation from the community so far

Im a solid dev, and not an expert but I can contribute in things such as testing and low level optimization; But, the Adobe open source site is a galactic disaster and discourages me from getting invloved. It has so many webpages that just go around in circles - filled with text that is verbose, this frustrates me to a great deal. As opposed to somehting straight foreward like:

http://framework.zend.com/download/latest
      or
      http://code.google.com/p/papervision3d/

Everything is here and easily notable. I avoid the seamingly endless pages and confusion. If I want to get to the Flex dev mailing list I have to register, then choose the lists, add the lists to my account. go though my account prefs read some directions.. then set up some other preferences..jeeeezzzz. If I want to submit a feature request I am directed to create another login for some Bug and Issue management? HUH? I thought I was submitting a featue request.

Right on papervisions google HOME page I see Getting started > Papervision3D Mailing List.