3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 25, 2009 4:01 PM by bryanlewis

Is Flex the answer for our Remote image viewer project

bryanlewis
      My company has a new project and I am trying to figure out if Flex (in conjunction perhaps with AIR) would be the best platform to do this on. I am not a Flex developer...I have a ColdFusion background, so I need your help to decide if we should go looking for a Flex Guru.

We need to grade digital papers remotely. The idea is that a grader would launch this application and login. Then the system would display a paper (a scanned image) on the screen and the person would enter a score. The system would interface with the backend via ColdFusion CFCs to a SQL server.

Features we would like:

1. The image pane would allow zooming of the image in case some text was hard to read. Ideally it would allow real-time brightness and contrast also, but perhaps that is asking too much.

2. If the paper was multiple pages (it could be), then the application would have an area which showed thumbsnails of each page. The grader could click on the thumbnail to skip to other pages.

3. I don't know about Flex/AIR security, but the entire session would have to encrypted (SSL). Security is important on this project. Can Flex/AIR be configured to stop/prevent screen capture?

4. Is flex capable of good keyboard handling? We would like to offer keyboard shortcuts for everything. If the grader types a number, then we want to assume they are scoring the paper. If they use the arrow keys, we want to flip between pages, etc.

5. Can it handle image caching? Performance will be important. So while the grade is looking at page one, we would want to be downloading any additional pages in the background if the paper was multi-page. Then once they flip to the next page it is instantaneous.