14 Replies Latest reply on Nov 3, 2008 9:25 AM by PaulBill

CSS question

HamptonCaught
      OK, I know, but I'm doing my best. I'm just making the transition from GoLive to Dreamweaver (because I think I ought to) and as if that wasn't enough, I'm also determined to produce the first page I do using CSS rather than tables (which is how I used to work).

Actually, the first page is incredibly simple. It consists of an image in the middle of the page - no text or anything else to be added. All the other pages in the site will follow the same style, although some will have text and images added (but the basic central design area will always be the same pixel size). I am absolutely swimming in treacle at the moment. Can anyone out there give me a basic idea of what I need to do to fix this first image to a central position on the page. I've tried wrapping it in a <div> tag and allocating a style to that but nothing I do has worked so far.

I'm a beginner in Dreamweaver (though I'm finding my way around it pretty quickly) and an absolute beginner in CSS, so please go easy on me.

Thank you for any help.
        • 1. Re: CSS question
          Level 7
          A suggestion.

Try making a site with DW templates. They all use template and CSS. And
          start from there.

Otherwise look at this post for centering page.
          http://www.adobe.com/cfusion/webforums/forum/messageview.cfm?forumid=12&catid=189&threadid =1347622&highlight_key=y&keyword1=Centering%20page

"HamptonCaught" <webforumsuser@macromedia.com> wrote in message
          news:ge7ckk$joj$1@forums.macromedia.com...
          > OK, I know, but I'm doing my best. I'm just making the transition from
          > GoLive
          > to Dreamweaver (because I think I ought to) and as if that wasn't enough,
          > I'm
          > also determined to produce the first page I do using CSS rather than
          > tables
          > (which is how I used to work).
          >