1 2 Previous Next 65 Replies Latest reply on Jan 7, 2009 6:47 AM by (Leo_A._Geis)

ACR INTERPOLATION UPSIZING

ACR INTERPOLATION UPSIZING (is it better?)

I have been off the subject for a couple years but the controversy seems to be about the same. I am a professional, high end, fine art, landscape photographer/print maker and I really want to ensure that my interpolation method is as BEST AS IT CAN BE for very large, high resolution gallery prints (usually the Canon 1DS Mark II or III). I did a very comprehensive research effort last time and basically found a lot of CONTRADICTORY info out there. I then tried all the up-sizing methods and then settled on PS Bicubic SHARPER (a tip by a very reputable fine artist/photographer and also mentioned in a KELBY book). Yes, I know this is unorthodox and controversial!

As I have gone through the database here on this forum I have all kinds of contradictory answers.

Some say ACR interpolation creates artifacts.

Some say it is the SAME as PS Bicubic Smoother.

I have also read DEKE say it is a "more sound algorithm" to interpolate in ACR at the RAW stage. This I also have found a few saying; that is is best done in ACR for quality, but the improvement is only slight (slight is good for me).

I am trying to produce some of the best, large, fine art landscape prints I can with my equipment (printed on Fuji Flex paper and printed on either a Durst Lambda or an Oce Lightjet) and I now want to re investigate this subject and get down to the bottom of it (again).

So... please throw out anything you know here! Is there a benefit to up-sizing in ACR, in terms of sheer quality large prints? Maybe JEFF SCHEWE would even throw in his perspective (again)?

Thank you for whoever participates in this beat to a pulp controversy. I just want to find out, if in two years, the subject has settled, or the answers changed?
        • 1. Re: ACR INTERPOLATION UPSIZING
          Level 1