4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 11, 2009 10:26 AM by (David_Zappa)

D3 XMP - Camera RAW

MAC OSX 10.5.6
      Hi, I'm totally new to this but need help with something: when opening a RAW file of my D3 I "finally" noticed that Camera Raw (latest version) does not take into onsideration the settings I may have configurated on ma camera, such as detail, contrast etc. Adding to that Camera raw applies automatically some settings like black (5 points) etc.

I believe this all has to do with the XMP files that come with each image right? But if I try to load the settings the XMP files of each image are not selectable.

what am I doing wrong? Plus, is there a plugin that allowes to show the focusing point of the image like in Nikon View NX?

Thank you so much.
      David
        • 1. Re: D3 XMP - Camera RAW
          Ann Shelbourne Level 1
          > noticed that Camera Raw (latest version) does not take into onsideration the settings I may have configurated on ma camera, such as detail, contrast etc.

That is because those settings only affect captured JPEGS they have no affect on RAW files and you would add those parameters to your RAW files while editing them in ACR.

>Adding to that Camera raw applies automatically some settings like black (5 points) etc.

You can change that in ACR by saving new settings as your Default Settings from the fly-out menu in the settings panel.
          • 2. Re: D3 XMP - Camera RAW
            Level 1
            Ann, but is there a way to import into ACR the xmp files that come with each photo? If I go into the fly out menue of ACR and click on load settings I end up into the default folder where settings are store and also these are XMP files so I thought that if I go into my imported images folder and select one of those XMP file sit might work instead of "re adjusting" in ACR. but those files are not selectable.

regarding a plug in or else giving the focusing point???
            • 3. Re: D3 XMP - Camera RAW