5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 31, 2007 1:07 PM by Thomas Knoll

DIGITAL WORKFLOW -help

(Jazzy_Sam)
      Hi out there,
      I have a Nikon D200 camera,Photoshop CS2 and WIndows.
      Now in my camera settings i take photos as Raw + Jpeg fine, my camera doesn't have TIFF.
      My photos are for printing -medium to large- and web.
      I am kind of new to the digital thing...
      I have been reading, asking, and wondering about digital workflow, i know it's a personal business but i am a little lost in there....but i don't want to spend most of my time doing this, now that i spend half on the computer!

Now this is what i do,
      does it make sense?any suggestions?any additions as to bits, resolution, etc?

1.CONVERT RAW INTO DNG (directly from camera if possible) USING DNG CONVERTER.(DELETE RAW) STORE
      2. MAKE CHANGES FROM THE DNG FILE IN ACR, SAVE AS DNG, NEW FILE.
      3.IF MAKE FURTHER CHANGES WITH PHOTOSHOP, SAVE CHANGES AS a.PSD (STORE AND USE FOR WEB) AND b.AS JPEG (STORE AND USE FOR PRINT)
      4.MAKE CONTACT SHEETS, GALLERY, ETC

I don't have Lightroom, is it worth getting into more programs?
      Am questioning why i set Jpeg copy in my camera...

Thanks.
      Jazzy from Spain
        • 1. Re: DIGITAL WORKFLOW -help
          Art Campbell Level 3
          You probably should join or check the archives of the Digital Nikon email list at some point... Also, you're somewhat limiting your self to just using Photoshop as your only software, although it does do most things very well. But you should also look at the Nikon software packages and other third party offerings, just as you'd look at different films for different types of analog shooting.

My own comments on your work flow:
          1. Why go to DNG? You've already got RAW. You don't need to duplicate it. Changes made in ACR to the RAW file are non-destructive; it isn't changed. Archive a copy of the RAW file and go on...