10 Replies Latest reply on Jul 7, 2008 1:16 PM by Tim Lookingbill

Noise, Sharpening and ACR

I have recently switched from processing my raw files from Aperture to Adobe Camera Raw 4.4.1. I shoot landscapes with the Canon 1Ds Mark III, low ISO, and wish to make very large prints (30-50"). After reading "Real World Camera Raw with CS3" it seems like the authors say that capture sharpening can be accomplished in ACR instead of what I was doing right after Aperture (with sharpening off)- that is, using Ninja Noise and then capture sharpen with Photokit Sharpener. But if I now capture sharpen in ACR I won't be able to use Ninja Noise since one should not sharpen noise. Right? So does this mean that if I capture sharpen in ACR that I should also use ACR's Noise Reduction? Or should I turn off ACR's Sharpening and Noise Reduction and do as I did before - use Ninja and PhotoKit sharpening after raw processing? (I hope this makes sense - I'm still learning the basics). Also any rough settings for what I'm doing would be very helpful. Thanks in advance.
        • 1. Re: Noise, Sharpening and ACR
          Level 1
          If you are shooting at ISO 100 and not severely under exposing I seriously doubt you need any other noise reduction other than Camera Raw 4.x (above 4.3.1) because the combination of capture sharpening and noise reduction is really rather good-particularly for the 1DsM3.

The only need I have is for really high ISO shots or where a major under-exposure requires lots and lots of CR Exposure increase (something I tend to avoid).
          • 2. Re: Noise, Sharpening and ACR
            Level 1
            Thanks Jeff. I've been working on an image two ways: