2 Replies Latest reply on Oct 30, 2006 12:18 PM by LLuis12

Sequentially loading images into a holder

LLuis12 Level 1
      Hi

I am completely new to Flash and all help is greatly apreciated!!

I have a rectangle symbol (holder1) which I have made stretch and shrink as though it is spining around an axis running from the top to bottom of the screen. (IE in and out of the page)

I want to load up an image into the holder and then, when the holder has spun 180 I want a second image to replace it.

I have got the first image to load, using code from one of the tutorials but I dont know how to make it change.

The change needs to be triggered every 240 frames.

Ideally I want it to select a random image from a selection and to act as a button that does to a different action depending on what image is displayed when it is clicked.

My code is as follows:
      var image0uri:String = "images/toro0.gif";
      var image1uri:String = "images/toro1.gif";
      var image2....etc

var currImage:Number = 0;
      var totalImages:Number = 7;

loadMovie(this["image"+(currImage)+"uri"],"holder1")
        • 1. Re: Sequentially loading images into a holder
          Level 7
          Not sure the specific questions but if you have potential delay with loading
          external swf movies which will prevent guarantee of continuous play. You may
          want at least two holders so the next image can be loaded and ready to go
          before it is needed on a frame's notice. If you always have 7 images, then I
          would go with 7 holders.

With two you load the next image alternately into the non active holder so
          it will be ready when needed. You can use the _visible property to hide and
          show the holders as you hit your swap point. You would need to set the
          rotation of the next holder just before you make it visible.

--
          Lon Hosford
          www.lonhosford.com
          Flash, Actionscript and Flash Media Server examples: