4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 19, 2008 8:34 PM by flexman5000

combo box error

cr1s
      Hello,
      I am very new to Flex and have a question I hope someone can help me with.
      My application was built using the ColdFusion Flex application wizard. The application uses MSSQL server with Coldfusion.

It seems that I am required to select an item from a comboBox even if the item I want is already being displayed. You must select an entry from the combo box by iether reselecting the item currently displayed or selecting one of the other options

If I do not make a selection from the combo box I am returned with an error even if the item I want is already displayed.

i(mx.rpc::Fault)#0
      errorID = 0
      faultCode = "Server.Processing"
      faultDetail = "[Macromedia][SQLServer JDBC Driver][SQLServer]The INSERT statement conflicted with the FOREIGN KEY constraint

If you open the combo box and make a selection everything woks well.

Can I have it so that if the item I want from the combo box is already displayed, it will accept that result without having to reselect the item from the combo box?

Thanks in advance for your help.
        • 1. Re: combo box error
          m_hartnett Level 3
          I believe that what you want is a value aware combo box. In flex you need to do a little work to get this done but it is preaty easy once you understand it. Read this link ... it does a good job of explaining.

http://flex.sys-con.com/node/312098
          • 2. Re: combo box error
            cr1s Level 1
            Thanks for your response.

I believe you are correct in that a value aware combo box would solve my problem.
            The code in accomplshing this is over my head so I think I will retain someone to do it for me.

Thanks again for your response.
            • 3. Re: combo box error
              ntsiii Level 3
              Actually, doing this in a "one-off" situation is quite easy.