12 Replies Latest reply: Dec 19, 2008 9:28 AM by Buko. RSS

Keeping text crisp in a PDF export

Hi all, I'm self-taught in InDesign, so forgive me if the question is basic. I created a document and exported it to PDF using the "press quality" setting. When I print from the PDF, it looks like the text has been converted to little dots rather than vector-style. I tried outlining the text and exporting it, but the same thing happened. Can anyone tell me how to make a PDF without loosing the vector-crisp text?
      As a side note, I am using a font that won't embed in PDF format. Will outlining the text fix this problem?
      I am using InDesign CS3 on a mac.

Thank you in advance for your help!
        • 1. Re: Keeping text crisp in a PDF export
          Tony Morse Community Member
          Most likely culprit is transparency. Do you have any transparent objects on top of the text, or a drop shadow that overlaps the text?

As for the font, it depends on the font itself. Many, but not all, fonts will outline even if they won't embed. But depending on the project you may need to check the font's usage and license agreement to see if you are legally allowed to do this.
          • 2. Re: Keeping text crisp in a PDF export
            Community Member
            I do not have any transparency going on. It is simply black text on a white background.

I've had this issue before too. I don't understand why the font would be converted to another format. I don't see any options pertaining to this in the PDF settings.
            • 3. Re: Keeping text crisp in a PDF export
              Community Member
              what kind of printer?

and how are you printing it?

some printers won't print PDFs so you have to print them as image. If you do this you loose your vector type.

and if you can't embed the type in the PDF the person viewing said PDF on their computer will not see the font unless they have it to.
              • 4. Re: Keeping text crisp in a PDF export