11 Replies Latest reply on Nov 25, 2008 7:26 PM by Newsgroup_User

{object object] in ComboBox + ListEvent.CHANGE itemRenderer always null

blipstation
      I am a Flex newbie and I am having several problems with a custom ComboBox.

The textInput value (user choice) always comes out [object Object]. And when I listen for the ListEvent.CHANGE event the itemRenderer is always null although it is successfully being used. The itemRenderer returns its height so I can adapt the textInput or user choice to also expand and show more than one line (not sure this is the right approach as textInput.textHeight is read-only).

The code is:
        • 1. Re: {object object] in ComboBox + ListEvent.CHANGE itemRenderer always null
          Level 7

"blipstation" <webforumsuser@macromedia.com> wrote in message
          news:ggbv73$o93$1@forums.macromedia.com...
          >I am a Flex newbie and I am having several problems with a custom ComboBox.
          >
          > The textInput value (user choice) always comes out [object Object].

Have you tried specifying a labelField or labelFunction?

• 2. Re: {object object] in ComboBox + ListEvent.CHANGE itemRenderer always null
            blipstation Level 1
            Thank you very much , Amy. I set the labelField thus in the constructor:

labelField="line"

and now it works. Presumably that is the only place it can go as I set the dataProvider before I do the addChild() and thus allow it to go throughthe pre-initialisation and intialization stages of its lifecycle.

Any ideas as to why the ListEvent has no itemRenderer available to it?

Or indeed how to get rid of :

warning: unable to bind to property 'line' on class 'Object' (class is not an IEventDispatcher) ?

What I am trying to do is set the textInput or chosen field to wrap along with the line choice if that wraps.
            • 3. Re: {object object] in ComboBox + ListEvent.CHANGE itemRenderer always null
              blipstation Level 1