2 Replies Latest reply on Nov 11, 2008 9:35 AM by Newsgroup_User

DIV TAGS for LAYOUT?

jlharville
      Hello all,

I am new to dreamweaver, and have but a simple question. I am trying to use DIV tags to create my banner, sidebars, and footers and so on. Is this an appropriate way to build a web layout?

Also, i will make a DIV tag for the banner, set the position height and width, and then for the two sidebars. And I will put simple text in each of them just to represent what they are. So in the banner box, I put banner, in the sidebar box, I put sidebar 1 and 2.

Then when I clicked preview page, they all overlapped eachother and they were not where I first put them on the page.

Any help please?
        • 1. Re: DIV TAGS for LAYOUT?
          Level 7
          jlharville wrote:
          > Hello all,
          >
          > I am new to dreamweaver, and have but a simple question. I am trying to use
          > DIV tags to create my banner, sidebars, and footers and so on. Is this an
          > appropriate way to build a web layout?

Yes, but not the way you are doing it. You are using absolutely
          positioned layer <divs> which won't work UNLESS you know their limitations.

> Also, i will make a DIV tag for the banner, set the position height and width,
          > and then for the two sidebars. And I will put simple text in each of them just
          > to represent what they are. So in the banner box, I put banner, in the sidebar
          > box, I put sidebar 1 and 2.

>
          > Then when I clicked preview page, they all overlapped eachother and they were
          > not where I first put them on the page.

That's the way absolutely positioned layer <divs> work, so it's why you
          shouldn't use them to construct your site.

Sounds like you have limited to no knowledge of using <divs> and css to
          create websites so for now I would use a simple table construction. Any
          reason why you are not?

• 2. Re: DIV TAGS for LAYOUT?