5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 15, 2008 11:20 PM by Rothrock

loadMovie levels

matchley
      I have delved through ever loadMovie post here and still can't seem to find out how to get this to work.

It is defiinitely a level issue, because when i put the instances of my menu buttons on the root timeline it works, but when the buttons are in the menu, which is a mc within a mc, it doesn't.

I have tried what feels like every conceivable combination of _root _level0 _parent .....and it won't load!!! Download the fla file here.
      You will see some of the various combinations if you look at the fla file.

Rothrock...if you read this. my apologies for not using movieClipLoader....but I understand that even less! I am a designer, trying to learn some coding.....

thanks in advance for any help!!
      Mel
        • 1. Re: loadMovie levels
          Rothrock Level 5
          That is hilarious. And yes you really should use MovieClipLoader. Especially if you are a designer!

First there is no way (at least correctly) to use loadMovie with levels. If you are actually using levels you need to use loadMovieNum().

However _levels are a really bad idea and you should use them. They don't make a lot of sense. Since _level isn't a class there aren't a lot of things you can do with it.

Movieclips are the dominant paradigm in Flash so creating empty movieclips and loading content into them is really the way to go.

Other that I'm not really sure exactly what the problem is. Few of us here randomly download whole FLAs and sort through them. We generally expect the person who is asking for help to do a bit of "editing" as it were and point out the bits of code they are having trouble with.

So what exactly are the problems you are having?
          • 2. Re: loadMovie levels
            Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP