6 Replies Latest reply on Nov 9, 2008 8:49 PM by ArchTools

Advancing from GL to DW in CS3 or CS4

ArchTools
      Hello:

I've been using GoLive for many years and am now ready to switch to Dreamweaver.

I'm not a codemonkey. I can copy and paste code and have a very basic understanding of tags and structure. I am no webmaster. I just work on my own website and most of it is pretty simple. That said, these are areas I need to focus on: 1) Video on my sites. 2) A small web store. 3) Ultimately a learning management system, though this is something I'll also be hiring someone to help with.

All else being equal, my instinct is to hold off on purchasing CS4 for a few months and learn DW CS3 and later make the switch to DWCS4 when bugs have been squashed and more money is coming in. It's really a question of how to attack the migration learning curve from GL to DW.

I guess you'd have to have some familiarity with all three to give advice on how to best take on the learning curve and process of migrating.

Thanks!

David
        • 1. Re: Advancing from GL to DW in CS3 or CS4
          Level 7
          > All else being equal, my instinct is to hold off on purchasing CS4 for a
          > few
          > months and learn DW CS3 and later make the switch to DWCS4 when bugs have
          > been
          > squashed and more money is coming in.

Do you already own CS3?

or are you debating about upgrading from GL to either CS3 or CS4? If so,
          start with CS4.

--
          Regards

John Waller

• 2. Re: Advancing from GL to DW in CS3 or CS4
            Level 7
            You are safe getting CS4 now. No show-stopper issues have been discovered
            as far as I know.

> I'm not a codemonkey. I can copy and paste code and have a very basic
            > understanding of tags and structure.

The more you can do to inform yourself about HTML and CSS, the easier your
            transition will be. DW expects you to bring this knowledge to the table.