6 Replies Latest reply on Jan 28, 2005 9:49 AM by (Tom_Warfield)

Output Not Correct

Level 1
      I'm very new to Adobe Output Server and Output Designer. We have a new application which uses these, and so I am learning.

I have a form which I can open in Designer just fine. I send it to the Output Server to print thru the application and it prints.

However, the imformation is garbled. A .dat file is created for the form to use, and the .dat file seems to be correct when I view it. However, the form itself does not seem to recognize the fields in the .dat file. So, on the form, the first field in the .dat file is printed in the first form field, regardless of the field name. The second field in the .dat file is printed on the form, regardless of the field name, etc.

When I open Designer and view the form, and use the exact same .dat file as input for the Test Presentment, the form displays the fields correctly by field name.

So.. I'm wondering if somewhere on the Output Server the fields on the form and the fields in the .dat file are not lining up right. Is there a setting on the Server that needs to be changed to get this to work correctly?

As far as I can tell, it's the same for all forms. And so this is why I think the problem is on the server, not in the form itself. But since this is my 2nd week dealing with this software, and we have no training, I'm grasphing at straws.

Thanks!
        • 1. Re: Output Not Correct
          Level 1
          Ive not experienced the problem you describe in your Adobe Output Server posting of this morning and Ive been using these products for more than 3 years. I suspect it may be something about the way the form is designed. Im willing to take a look at the .ifd form file and the .dat file that uses it if you will send them to me. If I dont see anything obvious, I could then run it on my test server to see what happens.