3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 9, 2008 6:01 AM by ice9_us

Back-End Choices

kmurph92
      Hi Everyone,

I am undertaking a project for college and am wondering exactly what I should use in conjunction with Flex to create the rich internet application. This RIA will analyze and report large volumes of data for the purpose of stat-tracking for post-deployment cellular network optimization. I know I would like to use Adobe Flex, due to its stellar graph and grid controls and overall GUI flow and appearance. Initially, I intended on using only Apache with PHP and MySQL because I am quite familiar with them, but the more I read from this development center, the less confident I became about this decision.

Before I continue, let me point out that I am using Fedora Linux for the server. As far as internet applications and development go, I'm by no means a newbie, but nowhere close to a guru.

I am greatly interested in the live data pushes from the server to the client. I understand that to do this, BlazeDS is needed. I read somewhere that a J2EE server (?) is needed to run BlazeDS. I read a couple of interesting tutorials by Sébastien Arbogast ( Link) and Maik Schumacher ( Link), which explained a lot, but due to my lack of experience, created more questions than answers for me. In these tutorials, the authors describe how to create a basic Flex RIA, one using Flex/BlazeDS/Spring/Hibernate/MySQL built with Maven, the other using Flex/BlazeDS/Hibernate JPA on Tomcat/MySQL. I have a general idea of what these technologies are (I think):

- BlazeDS is a remoting and message passing module that allows for live pushing of data to clients?
      - Spring is some Java framework that provides a level of security and maybe some other things?
      - Hibernate is a Java framework that provides some sort of object oriented model for relational databases?
      - Maven is something like Apache but with some Java support functionality?
      - Tomcat is a lot like Maven?