3 Replies Latest reply: Apr 9, 2007 4:52 AM by (DonRicklin) RSS

    Lightroom temp folder area

      I noticed Lightroom has its own folder in "my documents" folder.

      My question is 2-3 part actually

      1) Any adjustments I make will NOT affect the original image, correct?

      2) Do I need to hit reset for each individual image? Or is there a faster way to reset ALL images that have been developed?

      3) In the lightroom previews.data folder, is that a temp storage area?
      Can I delete anything in there?

      4) If I do a backup, does it backup ALL images in the "folder" section of lightroom?

      Thanks in advance, I'm very seriously considering buying this program soon, once I understand it all.

      Great stuff Adobe, keep it up.
        • 1. Re: Lightroom temp folder area
          Community Member
          1) totally non-destructive editing.

          2)Why do you need to reset ALL? That just undoes all you hard develop work. If you truly want to, in 'All Photographhs' select All and hit 'Reset'.

          3)Yes can can delete anything there. LR will just rebuild previews if you revisit an image.

          4)LR back-up set in Preferances is just for the dB (by default named 'Lightroom Database.lrdb'). Images have to be backed up by your standad back-up procedures you should already have in place (Raid, daily back-up, ??).

          Don
          MVC! Don Ricklin, MacBook 1.83Ghz Duo 2 Core running 10.4.9 & Win XP, Pentax *ist D
          http://donricklin.blogspot.com/
          • 2. Re: Lightroom temp folder area
            Community Member
            Thanks for the quick reply Don. (didn't get an email notice hmmm)

            As for #2, just curious as I noticed when coming back to images, whatever changes you make still stand. It was in relation to #1 really.

            As for #4, it's for the LR database meaning...?
            Sorry didn't follow what you meant.

            Again, thanks for the reply.
            • 3. Re: Lightroom temp folder area
              Community Member
              2) The images in LR always show the last dev settings applied. To show the original you can do reset. IF you don;t want to loose the settings save a preset, or apply them to a vertual copy or do a Dev snapshot (above History in Develop.

              4) The onlt back-up that LR provides is for it's dB (database) where all the metadata of nondestructive editing including keywords, crop, develop, etc) are stored. Anyother back-up of images etc, is up to ypu, as you should, as I said, be already doing that.

              Don
              MVC! Don Ricklin, MacBook 1.83Ghz Duo 2 Core running 10.4.9 & Win XP, Pentax *ist D
              http://donricklin.blogspot.com/