15 Replies Latest reply on Nov 9, 2008 12:45 PM by Newsgroup_User

Linking 'Hidden' pages

PiperdogDesign
      I have a business website piperdogdesign.com.au. I now want to make another website within that website. Basically I want to place my own website showing I am a graphic designer into the Piperdog website, but I don't want it to be a link on the piperdog home page. I want to be able to tell someone that they can view my graphic design work by going to piperdogdesign.com.au/michelle. How do I upload my 'michelle' page? Do all html pages have to be linked from the main index page? I don't want to spend the money to go buy a new domain name etc and want to be able to utilise the piperdog site and just tell certain people they can view my work on a certain page. I hope I am making sense here.
        • 1. Re: Linking 'Hidden' pages
          bregent Most Valuable Participant
          >How do I upload my 'michelle' page?

Just create a directory called michelle. Create a page and name it using the server default filename - probably index.html or similar.

>Do all html pages have to be linked from the main index page?

Of course not. If you are just going to give the url out to a few folks, then that's fine. And if there are no links to that page on the site, then search engines won't find it either when they index your site - which sounds like what you want.
          • 2. Re: Linking 'Hidden' pages
            PiperdogDesign Level 1