20 Replies Latest reply on Aug 17, 2006 10:05 AM by Newsgroup_User

Simple openFile script

jumpOnCommand Level 1
      I'm completely new to Director, but fairly fluent in Flash Actionscripting, which as I've found, it quite different.

I've been playing about with ebooks, online tutorials and this forum trying to construct something, but to no avail. I would like to open a simple file. test e.g.

function mouseUp(me) {
      button1.openFile("C:/autorun.inf", 1)
      }

when I run the script, I get an error saying "button1 is not defined ".

Help would be greatly appreciated.

jumpOnCommand
        • 1. Re: Simple openFile script
          Level 7
          A function like you have written would normally be in a behavior script
          window. That behavior would then be attached to a sprite, your button,
          for instance.

You don't say how button1 is defined. If its a named sprite that holds
          this behavior then you don't need the reference. Me refers to the sprite
          that holds the behavior. Me is in most respects, very similar to "this"
          in actionscript.

If button1 is the name of a sprite other than the sprite that holds the
          behavior, then you would refer to it like this:

sprite("button1").

In any case, the name of a sprite is a string. If you don't name the
          sprite then its channel number is a number.

If button1 is a cast member's name, then you don't normally refer to the
          member name in that way.

OpenFile() is a fileIO xtra function. You need to create an instance of
          the xtra before you can call it's functions. If button1 is the name of
          the xtra's instance, then it may be out of scope. In order for it work
          in your example, button1 would have to be a global or property variable.

--
          Rob
          _______
          Rob Dillon
          Adobe Community Expert
          http://www.ddg-designs.com
          412-243-9119