3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 11, 2006 1:31 PM by Newsgroup_User

Named anchor links with .shtml extention?...

DIY_Lobotomy Level 1
      I have a page that I am using server-side includes on, so I have used the .shtml extention, as opposed to the regular .html extention...

I want to have a named anchor on the page, but it doesn't seem to work with the .shtml extention as it would with the .html extention. Do I have to do something diffrent? I've never tried this before...

Normally, I'd link to "page.html#anchor", but if I try to link to "page.shtml#anchor" I get a dead link. Any ideas? Thanks!...

--Matt
        • 1. Re: Named anchor links with .shtml extention?...
          Level 7
          .oO(DIY_Lobotomy)

>I have a page that I am using server-side includes on, so I have used the
          >.shtml extention, as opposed to the regular .html extention...
          >
          > I want to have a named anchor on the page, but it doesn't seem to work with
          >the .shtml extention as it would with the .html extention.

Named anchors/fragment identifiers are handled on the client-side. They
          have nothing to do with the server or any file extension.

>Do I have to do
          >something diffrent?

No.

> Normally, I'd link to "page.html#anchor", but if I try to link to
          >"page.shtml#anchor" I get a dead link.

Then "page.shtml" will be dead as well, so it's probably a problem with
          your server. Are SSI enabled on that machine?

Micha
          • 2. Re: Named anchor links with .shtml extention?...
            DIY_Lobotomy Level 1
            Okay, I found out what was happening, but I still don't understand why...

Everything worked fine online when I uploaded it, but it still doesn't work locally (for testing purposes) with the .shtml extention. Does that make sense? Why would that be? Thanks!...

--Matt
            • 3. Re: Named anchor links with .shtml extention?...
              Level 7
              .oO(DIY_Lobotomy)