8 Replies Latest reply on Dec 17, 2008 1:42 PM by Newsgroup_User

How do I create a Basic CD-Rom with video content

gchal
      Hopefully someone here can help me out with this...

The production company that I work for would like to be able to produce our own simple CD-Roms. We purchased Director 11, but all of the tutorials and help sites that I found dealt with game development or overcomplicated topics.

I'd like to learn how to create a CD-Rom that is similar to a basic authored DVD... a Title page with buttons that play video content. I would also be interested in incorporating Power Point Presentations as viewable content on the CD-Rom.

This is something that is relatively easy to do, right? I just haven't been able to figure it out. I have a lot of experience with Avid editing software, Photoshop, After Effects, and Encore. I also have moderate experience with Illustrator and html coding. I feel like this will be really easy once someone can explain it to me.
        • 1. Re: How do I create a Basic CD-Rom with video content
          Level 7
          The basics of what you are asking is pretty easy to do in Director. To
          make a menu, just import your graphics including buttons. Create a
          frame label on the timeline for each video. On each button, add the
          behaviour named 'Jump to Marker Button' (it is in the Library under
          Behaviours, Controls). Pick the appropriate label for each button in
          the resulting popup. Then import your video and place one on each
          frame. Put the 'Go Loop' behaviour on each of these frames (in the
          frame channel). That behaviour is in the Library under Behaviours,
          Navigation.

Depending upon how your movies are setup, the rest will be different
          (i.e. are the Quicktime, avi, wmv, RealVideo, etc?). But the Library
          has behaviours for a lot of them, and building custom scripts is pretty