2 Replies Latest reply on Nov 14, 2008 2:57 PM by DavideBarranca

needed() and changed() region function

DavideBarranca Level 1
      Hello,
      I'm studying the basicBoxBlur code that comes as sample in PBToolkit. As I'm a beginner in code writing, I have some troubles understanding properly the use of needed() and changed() region function: are they supposed to simplify the PB calculations, since the filter runs even commenting those lines?
      Could you gently provide some more info about their role specifically in the basicBoxBlur code?
      I'm sorry if this appears as dummy question, but the my personal learning curve is quite steep... (my actual goal is to be able to rewrite some sort of Gaussian Blur, Maximum, Minimum and Median Photoshop filters, so this is only a initial step toward them - I'll be fighting with sorting algorithms later on :)
      TIA,

Davide Barranca

• 1. Re: needed() and changed() region function
          BrianRonan
          Hi Davide,

I'm really glad you've asked this question. It's a very good question. Region functions would be considered one of the more confusing, topics with respect to Pixel Bender. Unfortunately, this makes it difficult to explain in words, but we'll try anyway.

The region functions are the mechanism by which you indicate to the product your running in (whether it's the toolkit, Photoshop, or After Effects) how your filter affects the size of the image. Currently, Flash does not support these functions in the Pixel Bender source, but you do need to implement the same thing in the supporting ActionScript code.