4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 26, 2008 12:07 PM by wmiddendorff

Disabling MySQL autocommit

Ashburton
      I'm relatively new to using cftransaction but I've come across something that I can't explain. I added "SET autocommit=0;" to the connection string of my database in CFAdmin for a MySQL 4.1 database and restarted the service. The db is using the native MySQL 4/5 driver.

In the code attached below and found that if I remove the <cfif commitData> logic the data is still written to the tables. If I force an db error on the second insert the data appears to roll back and not write to either table. If I remove the cftransaction rollback statement it will write the first insert but not write the second.

So, even with autocommit switched off (if I actually do have it switched off) does cfquery or something else automatically commit the data if cfcatch does not catch an error?
        • 1. Re: Disabling MySQL autocommit
          Level 7
          Ashburton wrote:
          > I'm relatively new to using cftransaction but I've come across something that I
          > can't explain. I added "SET autocommit=0;" to the connection string of my
          > database in CFAdmin for a MySQL 4.1 database and restarted the service. The db
          > is using the native MySQL 4/5 driver.
          >
          > In the code attached below and found that if I remove the <cfif commitData>
          > logic the data is still written to the tables. If I force an db error on the
          > second insert the data appears to roll back and not write to either table. If I
          > remove the cftransaction rollback statement it will write the first insert but
          > not write the second.
          >
          > So, even with autocommit switched off (if I actually do have it switched off)

I think that autocommit is switched off only for the first transaction.
          Here's a log of the commands submitted to the MySQL server for a
          transaction: