14 Replies Latest reply on Jan 5, 2008 10:57 AM by Jeron Coolman

Third Party Capturing Program Quality

ytlevine Level 1
      I was wondering if anyone knows:
      I was interested in capturing in either Sorenson, or Scenalyzer, instead of in Premiere itself. I was wondering if anyone knows about either one, and if the capture quality will be as good as in Premiere.
      Thank You.
        • 1. Re: Third Party Capturing Program Quality
          Level 1
          With DV files, capture is actually just a transfert of the bitstream on the tape to the hard drive. While this involve adding a wrapper and extracting the audio stream for type 2 AVI you have no change in the video stream. So the only worry is dropping frames. Scenalyser will monitor that and warn you of any frames dropped: there should not be any. I have no experience with Sorenson. In other words the video is full quality or zero information, nothing in between.
          • 2. Re: Third Party Capturing Program Quality
            Jeron Coolman Level 1
            If you are capturing HDV, ANY capture program is better than Premiere.
            • 3. Re: Third Party Capturing Program Quality
              ytlevine Level 1
              I am using regular DV.
              Does anyone know if any other program is better, or if there is a program that can put markers in by scene switches (instead of making a new AVI file? And does anyone use Sorenson?
              • 4. Re: Third Party Capturing Program Quality
                Harm Millaard Level 7
                Not AFAIK, and why would you want that? Some do but not me.
                • 5. Re: Third Party Capturing Program Quality
                  ytlevine Level 1