4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 7, 2008 4:43 PM by (Lin_Laurie)

Video Camera

Hi all,

I am about to purchase a video camera for my company and I wondered if anyone had any recommendations, and must-have-features, and other information that would help me select the best camera. And is there any other equipment you think I should get?

I will be videotaping people speaking. Some of them like to walk around as well. I am new to videotaping and can use all the advice you'd care to give me.

Thanks,

Lin
        • 1. Re: Video Camera
          John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP
          Do NOT, I repeat NOT buy a DVD or hard drive camcorder... they produce files that are NOT, I repeat NOT suitable for editing

You need a miniDV camcorder that records to TAPE... where you transfer the information to your computer via Firewire

One that may work for you is...
          http://reviews.cnet.com/Panasonic_PV_GS320/4505-6500_7-32330317.html
          • 2. Re: Video Camera
            Jim_Simon Level 8
            For professionals, I think the best quality and value at the moment is the DVX100B from Panasonic. I've not seen any camera under $5,000 touch it's picture quality and some that go over $5,000 with lesser audio quality. It'll have your XLR for audio, a big viewfinder and LCD, 24P and other filmlike settings, plus the best ergonomic handheld design I've ever used. For me, no other prosumer camera is even worth considering.