9 Replies Latest reply on Feb 10, 2008 10:23 AM by Jeff Bellune

Project  Import Bug

hhansard Level 1
      PPCS3, windows, latest patches, etc, etc

Great bug and I used to write software for a living, so I know a good bud when I see one Perfectly repeatable 100% of the time:

Needed to pull together something quickly. Built a new project and imported several old projects to pull assets and some timeline.

So I build project X and import projects A+B+C

Cleaned-up all the un-needed assets and un-used timelines and reorganized everything nice and tidy. Used project manager to blow-away all unused assets.

SO I am left with just X

Burned DVD life is good.

So now I have a finished project X and saved-it-out. Done !

Several weeks later, a guy sees the DVD and wants me to expand the idea and use some of his assets.

OK, dont want to corrupt my finished dvd project [X], so I create a new project and import the final version of the saved dvd project [X] and will add his assets

Basically use final X + new assets to make project Y

Well, upon importing X, I dont get X I get A+B+C ??? in the state prior to using project manager to clean-up

In summary, X is not imported at all, not the final timeline anywhere.. I simple get A+B+C..

I must be crazy, so I close my current project and open the final dvd project [X] and it is in its correct state ---- nice and tidy. I even burn another DVD to make sure the project is not corrupted.

OK, I must have made a mistake, so I go back and create a new project [Y] and import the final state of X and it happens again. I get A+B+C I even try to import auto-saves versions, and still happens.

Now I assume the project bin is managed using a linked-list of pointers, or large pointer array something inside the project file is really screwed-up to cause an import problem like this. Are there history states on the project bin?

Thanks in advance,

Hugh
        • 1. Re: Project  Import Bug
          hhansard Level 1
          Update: