4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 25, 2008 7:48 AM by Jim_Simon

Firewire

Hi- I'm new to PPCS3. I've been using Sony hard drive cam and Elements. I'm
      upgrading to new camera- (Panasonic DVX100B) and need to purchase and install a firewire connect to Dell XPS 400, (1 year old). Dell doesn't recommend a brand or type. Would love to add a front access to either a 3.5 floppy slot, or to a empty CD Rom space. Question? Does it matter what brand, or type, in order to be compatible with the above?? Thanks for any input.
        • 1. Re: Firewire
          the_wine_snob Level 9
          Most FW boards should work, depending on the slots that you have available in your MoBo. The front-panel connections is a nice feature for convenience.

One thing that you might want to think about is use of FW-800 for external drives in the future. I've had great success with: http://www.firewiredirect.com/product/347/
          Unfortunately, they do not have a front-panel faceplate for it, or did not when I bought. To circumvent that, I did run a FW-800 cable from an internal connection through the back of the case, so I could make connections at the front of the computer. Not as elegant as a faceplate, but workable. Only used the above supplier three times, but got great service with 0 complaints. Not a long track record, but a good one, so far.

Make sure that your MoBo BIOS are able to handle FW (should not be a problem) and if you go with a IEEE1394a & b, make sure that it will handle/recognize FW-800, as well.

Hunt
          • 2. Re: Firewire
            Jim_Simon Level 8
            The problem with Firewire 800 is that you can't always have both at the same time, and 800 is not backwards compatible. If I were to install a Firewire 800 driver, I would have to uninstall it and install the 400 driver every time I wanted to capture, since all cameras are 400 devices.