3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 11, 2008 9:21 AM by the_wine_snob

probably the 2000st post about file types

Level 1
      Hi,

This post has been probably made 2000 times but I can't give any feedback to Adobe themselves so I thought why not here. Maybe somebody reads it.

I love Adobe.. I use Photoshop CS3, Dreamweaver CS3 every day at work and I really can't live without it. So I thought, why not try a video editing program of Adobe. It must be good!

So I downloaded Premiere Pro CS3 and played around. I'm really bugged out by the product though. I'm not a professional video editor so correct me if I am wrong but I use the main file extensions an all day user would use. If i look in the list Premiere only accepts avi, mov, wmv & wma. Where the heck are : mpg, mpeg, mp1, mp2, mp4, divx, qt, ram, VOB (Regular DVD!!!)and so on.. these are the basic file types.

I mean this is like the iPhone which claims to have full internet but doesnt support Flash (95% of the internet is Flash)...

I'm not looking for an answer here but just a bit bugged out that an Adobe product is cripple as f***. I'm not used to this with Adobe.

AH well, maybe they will make a product someday to support the regular files each user has on the internet.
        • 1. Re: probably the 2000st post about file types
          Jim_Simon Level 8
          They do. It's called Premiere Elements. Premiere Pro is geared more towards professional media that is better suited to editing.
          • 2. Re: probably the 2000st post about file types
            Steven L. Gotz Level 5
            The best answer to this question is quite simple. Premiere Pro is designed to take video off of a video camera and edit it. That's it. All there is to it.

Starting with MiniDV, the standard definition video is transferred from the camera to the PC is a process called "capturing". It is merely a file transfer of ones and zeros. No changes are made to the video or audio as it is captured.