5 Replies Latest reply on Jul 28, 2007 7:54 AM by Steven L. Gotz

Is the Hardware and Software enough/good for my needs

Level 1
      I've been reading these forums and a few others and am concerned about somethings and hope some of you can help with these concerns:

Some background and info:

1. I've ordered a Dell XPS 720 H2C which as a Intel Core2 Extreme processor QX6700 (3.46GHz,,Overclocked) w/Quad Core Technology and 8MBcache, 4 GB RAM, Dual 768MB NVIDIA GeForce 8800GTX, 1.5TB RAID 0 HDD and a secondary 500GB SATA 3GB/s (No option for a RAID 0 secondary HDD, Windows VISTA ultimate OS.

2. Will be buying/upgarding the Production Premium CS3 package. (currently only use PhotoShop CS3 and Flash CS3).

3. I have a Canon XH A1 prosumer video camera (I'm an amature photographer/videographer not a professional. Software is my forte).

My questions at this moment are to do with hardware software capabilties and workflow.

My first project (of many I hope) is a make some corporate videos in HDV format for online marketing purposes (kind of like the videos Adobe have for CS3 - http://www.adobe.com/creativelicense/) and possibly to produce DVDs of the same.

My first question is; Given the hardware and software, will I be able to do what I need? I really hope I don't have to go buy any more hardware. I don't mind having to do one or two more steps. to achieve the end goal (initially).

Starting with the mode to shoot in (for the purpose stated above), what is my workflow going to be?
      i. What is the best mode to shoot in? (24f, 30f, 60i)
      ii. How do I get the video from the MiniDV tape onto my HDD and then into Premier Pro.
      iii. I need to be able to compisite multiple HDV clips to produce the final cut. Is the hardware and software good for this? On a scale of 1 to 10, what can I expect in terms of productivity.

I've heard elsewhere that Premier Pro just don't produce true HD quality results. Is this earlier versions.