14 Replies Latest reply on May 9, 2008 8:28 AM by (Studio_Era)

Playback/Preview is so bad. . .

specs:
      TOTAL NEWBIE
      HP Pavilion m9150f
      Intel Core 2 Quad proc. Q6600
      3072 MB RAM
      720 GB Hard Drive
      NVIDIA Geforce 8500 GT Graphics Card
      Vista Home Premium

I realize because it's running off of RAM, the playback will not be as smooth as the finished product, but I'm finding it such low quality that it's hard to believe that's the way it's been released to the public.

Also, I'm finding I'm sitting there thinking we can't be expected to wait for the final rendered project to see if it all worked properly.

I'm mostly talking about the playback window (ie. Program: Sequence 01) if I select 'fit' it's too small to see on my 2207 px screen, but if I put it up to 100% the quality is so bad I'm freaking out ;-)

Thanks for your time,
      Respectfully,
      Brad
        • 1. Re: Playback/Preview is so bad. . .
          Jeff Bellune Adobe Community Professional
          >specs:
          TOTAL NEWBIE

LOL! :)

It seems that you may have your project frame size mis-matched compared to the frame size of the source video. Viewing at a 100% shouldn't degrade unless this is the case.

It's also possible that you have your Playback Settings set to Draft Quality.
          • 2. Re: Playback/Preview is so bad. . .
            Level 1
            Da-da-dada!
            Jeff to the rescue.
            Sweet.

I see I have opened a new project at HDV 1080i25 (50i) and imported an .wmv clip at 720x480 at 29.97.

hmm. . .

Am I to,
            A. resize the project somehow?
            or
            B. find a way to know the size of the clips I'm importing beforehand?

Also, I assumed the Playback Settings would have been under Edit>Preferences, but alas, I am wrong once again. . .

Brad
            • 3. Re: Playback/Preview is so bad. . .
              Dan Isaacs Level 2
              > Am I to

1.) Don't use .wmv files for editing